Once a Yankee…

Full disclosure here: I grew up in Ohio.

My resume will let you know that I have been gravitating south for some time now, however.  Out of school, I had a choice between Michigan and Mississippi for my first professional, full-time job.  Considering I grew up in Columbus — home to THE Ohio State University Buckeyes — I figured I could not choose Michigan and still come home for Christmas.  So, it was out to the deep south for some southern fried seasoning.

That’s where I got a taste of southern living.  I spent a little more than a year in Greenville, Mississippi at the CBS affiliate in town, WXVT.  Then, I moved back north to West Virginia, where I got married, bought a house, had a couple children, adopted a couple dogs, sold a house and bought another house and met a lot of people.  Those were great times and it was a fantastic experience, but the opportunity to move to the coast came up and I jumped at it.

I’m excited to be in Wilmington.  I have been here for the past few months, but just officially moved here the week before Christmas.  My family is getting settled and we intend to make the most of the many experiences that are offered here.

Oh yeah, and considering I grew up in Cleveland, I do not like to be called a Yankee.  I did hear that a lot in Mississippi though (mostly good-hearted ribbing I think).

I hope to use this blog as a way to convey how we put together the news here at WECT and WSFX.  I have enjoyed getting to know everyone here inside WECT and WSFX and in the community.  Please let me know if you have any questions and we can discuss those here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

